Stop Being Normal!

The reason you are here is because you are DONE being normal. Normal is boring. Normal people are broke. Normal gets you poor results in terms of financial growth and personal satisfaction. Normal people struggle to pay their bills. Normal people have lots of debt that burdens them throughout their entire lifetime. Normal people are un-inspired and are living weekend to weekend. Normal people dread Mondays and live for Fridays. Normal people complain about their lives. We (in Network Marketing) get to live extraordinary lives. We are striving to make a difference in the world. We are on a journey of personal growth. We have a chance to travel to all the corners of the earth and bring a message of hope to people of many cultures and backgrounds. We can get excited about being part of a business model that offers unlimited possibilities for financial success.

Let’s take a look at what normal people do. Normal people watch 4-6 hours of TV per day. Most people say, “Oh, I don’t watch that much TV”. Well, someone is watching TV because the advertisers are still advertising and paying 10’s of thousands of dollars per minute. Normal people spend 1-2 hours PER DAY in rush-hour traffic. It has been suggested that network marketing is a cult. Network marketing is no more a cult than a job is a cult. If I have a choice to be brainwashed to offer something to people that will make their lives better or be brainwashed to; get up at 5:30am to an alarm clock (that un-naturally and violently jerks you out of bed) then, with glazed-over eyes, jump into my car with my coffee to creep along in 2 mph rush-hour traffic for an hour, for 40 hours of my week for 40 years with people that I typically don’t want to be around, causing me to complain about it year in a year out, all so I can scrape by with no prospect of every really getting ahead, I’ll join the network marketing cult!

When I was in my early 20’s I decided that normal wasn’t for me. When I got ridiculed or mocked, I said to myself, “it’s okay. You’re normal. I don’t want to be like you”. I watched the people around me at work (at the State of AZ, The City of Phoenix and then America West Airlines) and I said to myself, “If I don’t get out of this prison, I will die a slow death”. My co-workers (most of them) were numb to the agony they had been experiencing for years. It’s a slow lobotomy that very quietly eats away at your spirit. In most cases it kills whatever drive you had to grow and contribute. Now I know, this doesn’t apply to everyone, but it’s interesting to notice how many people complain about how much they hate their boss or their job. I also find it interesting how many people complain about not having enough money or not enough time to spend doing the the things they want to do. The negativity that permeates a typical working environment destroys the human spirit over time.

I don’t get mocked too much any more, although I know there are some people that do. Most of the people that mock me are people that are stuck, looking for someone else to blame. Network Marketing simply offers an opportunity. I do know this; if one person can do it, then many more can do it too. That’s the premise of our business. If one can do it, then others can do it too. I know that if I can achieve this level of success, the opportunity exists for you to do it as well. This is the REASON I was able to “break-out” in my last company. I saw others that had done it and I said to myself, “If they can do it, I can do it”. That’s how it all starts. I have never met a single person that made it big and said. “Yeah, that’s good for him, but I could never do the same thing!” There are MILLIONS of people that have never heard of SendOutCards and it is the perfect thing they need! Our job is to get to them and show them what we are doing.

Stop being normal. Step out of the status quo. It’s okay to buck the system and be different. We are different. We are not normal. Our chosen line of work challenges the status quo. It’s a better way of doing business. It’s more fun. It’s more rewarding. It has unlimited potential for growth. It doesn’t require expensive degrees. Yes, it’s non-conventional and as a result, MOST people don’t get it. That’s built in. It’s okay. Don’t fight that. Do your best to educate and find the ones that are ready. The REASON for our opportunity is because MOST people don’t see it. As soon as everyone sees it the opportunity is over. Be thankful that only a few get it. It buys us time. Would you rather have 5,000 people on your team once everyone else figures it out, or would you rather have 10 people on your team. Do you see why it’s better that most people don’t see it right away. Be thankful that we are in a line of work that is not normal (most people don’t get what we do). That’s a good thing! You must be bold and step out to FIND those that see it the way we do. Get really good at sorting for the right ones. If you don’t find them, someone else will. (I would rather it be you!)

6 thoughts on “Stop Being Normal!

  1. This is beautiful exhortation to those of us with ears to hear it, Jordan! Great piece of text that reflects our dream and potential. Maybe we should be asking, “Who do you know who is not normal?”

  2. I was famous around my friends for being “weird”. I am learning with you, that I am a “special edition”. It’s better this way. Thanks

  3. Great article as usual by my favorite network marketing trainer Jordan . I have never EVER felt “normal” in life and maybe that is why I am where I am now- heading toward my goals- slowly but surely.

Leave a comment